1988 India Pakistan Agreement

The Agreement on Non-Nuclear Aggression is a bilateral and nuclear treaty between the two South Asian states, India and Pakistan, on the reduction (or limitation) of nuclear weapons, and has pledged not to attack foreign powers or to assist them in attacking each`s nuclear facilities and facilities. [1] The treaty was conceived in 1988 and signed on 21 December 1988 by Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto and his Indian counterpart Rajiv Gandhi. It came into force in January 1991. [1] After the 1988 parliamentary elections, Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto extended the invitation of Indian Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. [4] On 21 December 1988, Indian Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi made a state visit to Pakistan and met with Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto in Islamabad. [4] New discussions ended negotiations on 21 December 1988 in Islamabad, when Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto and Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi signed the “Non-Nuclear Attack Agreement”. The treaty was ratified by the parliaments of India and Pakistan on 27 January 1991. [1] The first list of nuclear facilities in India and Pakistan was exchanged between two nations on 1 January 1992. [5] [6] The agreement includes facilities such as “nuclear and research reactors, fuel production, uranium enrichment, isotopic separation and reprocessing facilities, as well as any other fresh or spent nuclear fuel and fuel facility in any form and any facility in which significant amounts of radioactive material are stored.” Last week, on New Year`s Day, Wednesday, India and Pakistan successfully concluded the 29th consecutive annual exchange of lists of sensitive nuclear facilities as part of a non-aggression agreement between them. Under the Convention on the Prohibition of Attack on Nuclear Facilities, lists are considered by each country to be outside the borders for attacks in conflict. The bilateral agreement – the first of its kind between the two South Asian neighbours – was signed on 31 December 1988, before one of them broke down as a nuclear power. It came into force on January 1, 1991. India and Pakistan became nuclear powers in May 1998, when India conducted five armed nuclear tests and Pakistan six.

The first exchanges of lists under the 1988 agreement took place in 1992. India and Pakistan on Sunday exchanged lists of their nuclear facilities for the 26th consecutive year as part of a bilateral agreement that prohibits them from attacking each other`s nuclear facilities. The agreement, signed on 31 December 1988 and entered into force on 27 January 1991, stipulates that the two countries will inform each other on 1 January of each calendar year about the nuclear facilities and facilities that will be covered by the agreement. The agreement does not contain specific compliance and verification measures that go beyond the exchange of lists between the two countries. The specific criteria for what can be included and excluded in these lists are not defined; It is generally accepted that the list of nuclear facilities is unlikely to be exhaustive, given that New Delhi and Islamabad are both incentivized to conceal certain facilities relevant to their respective nuclear weapons programmes. India has repeatedly proposed extending the agreement to non-civilian and economic objectives, but Pakistan has consistently rejected these proposals.

Share this :